Honey Wheat Bread

November 7, 2006 yuki

Honey Wheat Bread

I’ve literally bookmarked this recipe YEARS ago, but I couldn’t gather the courage to try making yeast breads, as my previous attempts (using a rather simplified Chinese recipe) have ended up baking into ROCKS. I’ve been reading about using yeast ever since, and understand the theory quite well now, but I was still rather reluctant to bake my own bread. But finally! My first success!

I didn’t know drying the dough up would inhibit rising, so I stuck the dough into the freezer, thawed overnight and baked it in my little toaster oven in the morning. I also forgot to make the sponge (the initial 15min of rest). Needless to say, it didn’t rise much and had a thick, chewy crust, but that’s okay.. It was still EDIBLE, and LOOKED nice!

Honey Wheat Bread

-~-~-~-~-~-

Honey Wheat Bread
from Allrecipes.com. Makes 2 9×5 loaves

1 package (2 1/4 tsp) active dry, instant dry or 20g fresh yeast
1 tsp sugar
1/2 c warm water
1 can (12oz) evaporated milk
1/4 c water (I used regular milk instead of evaporated + water)
1/4 c melted shortening (I recommend butter)
1/4 c honey
2 tsp salt
2 c whole wheat flour
3 c bread flour

1. Mix sugar, yeast and 1/2 c warm water. Mix the rest of the water/milk, shortening/butter, honey, salt and wheat flour, and add in yeast mixture. Let rest 15min.

2. Add the bread flour, and knead 10min or until smooth. Cover and let rise until double in size, or until the dough does not spring back when you stik your finger an 1/2 – 1″ into the dough.

3. Gently press the air out of the dough and shape into 2 loaves. Cover and let rise until double again. Bake 25 to 35min in 375F.

Entry Filed under: Bread

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
